The European Union has announced legal proceedings against Hungary, Poland and the Czech Republic in a move that threatens to deepen the EU’s east-west divide over migration policy.

The move against the three eastern member states by the European Commission came after they refused to accept any migrants as part of an EU-wide relocation plan for 160,000 migrants.

In a statement, the European Commission said it was launching the cases after “repeated calls” on the three to pledge to accept the migrant quotas, all of which had been ignored. “Against this background … the Commission has decided to launch infringement procedures against these three Member States,” it said.

The three states – which all immediately rejected the EU decision – could face fines and other sanctions, although the process, if it comes to anything, is expected to take many months, or even years.


See Also:

Europe: Huge Population Replacement Taking Place

‘NOT ACCEPTABLE’ Ex-EU chief Schulz demands Hungary loses subsidies over migrant clash

Rome’s mayor says ‘no more migrants’ can move into the city

Czechs to take legal action against EU weapon directive

Rise in German weapons exports fuels criticism of government policy

Vladimir Putin says NATO is fuelling arms race as he vows retaliation amid WW3 tension

Finland’s ruling party SPLIT UP by rebels as populist group destroyed

Germany ordered to pay energy giants billions over illegal nuclear tax

Eurozone recovery dealt MAJOR BLOW over fears for Germany’s economy – confidence wanes

Tory-DUP deal announcement `to be delayed due to tower block tragedy´

London High-Rise Fire Accelerated by Grenfell Tower Building Materials: Expert

Brexit BOOST: UK unemployment down 50,000 this year as people in work hits record high

(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)